GIRI Institute of Development Studies

The Institute, named after the former President and eminent labour leader late Shri V.V. Giri, was established by a group of eminent social scientists and leading public personalities. Late Professor V.B. Singh, a well known labour economist was the founder Director of the Institute. In 1977 Professor T.S. Papola joined the Institute as first full time Director and nurtured the Institute in its initial years and developed it into a well known centre of research on development issues.


The first Board of Governors of GIDS was headed by Shri D.P. Dhar and had eminent social personalities and scholars like Naval H. Tata, Malcolm S. Adiseshiah, Baljit Singh and Nagendra Singh as its members. Subsequently, a wide range of distinguished intellectuals and policy makers have been associated with the governing body of the Institute. They included Professors P.N. Haksar, Yashpal, Nityanand, S.R. Hashim, Yogendra Singh, Y.K. Alagh, G.S. Bhalla, Ravi Srivastava, K.P. Kannan among others.